Vindicator

Back when I first started buying the models for this new army, I did some trading on a well known site, bartertown.com. I traded some old Battle Fleet Gothic miniatures for quite a few Chaos Space Marine models. One of them was this Vindicator. The upper part of the model and the cannon is a resin kit from puppetswar.eu and, overall, the model was in pretty bad shape. The first thing I did was disassemble it and clean up the pieces. I then reassembled it and it had some major gaps. I used a lot of green stuff to fill in the gaps and then smoothed everything out. If you pick the model up and really examine it, it still has some issues, but as it sits on the table top, it turned out pretty well.

iQ3NvJfh pD436Ewh LhyDCPIh

On my next post, I will show the rhinos I assembled and painted for this army. By the way, what are you drinking right now? I’ve been stuck on Yuengling Lager for a bit. So tasty..

7 thoughts on “Vindicator

  1. Awesome paint job. That cannon looks simply amazing. As a fellow chaos player who is just getting into tabletop 40k, I love this blog. Keep up the good work.
    Also any battle report chances? And what are your thoughts on army building with the new codex?

  2. Thanks for the compliments! I don’t get to play nearly as much as I get to paint, but I will try and put together a report from a game soon. As far as army building, I play just for enjoyment, so my lists aren’t tournament caliber. In a 2000 point list, I’ll typically take a few dark apostles or possibly a winged daemon prince to lead the army. I like cultists, so I typically take 60-80 of them for objective holding and a rhino-mounted unit of chaos space marines. Beyond that, I will take obliterators and typically 5 terminators because i really like those models. I will then mix in a heldrake, forgefiend, vindicator, helbrute, or bikers based on what sounds fun. I don’t ever build a list to play against a certain army, so I always try to make an all-comers list.

    • Nice. Yeah I’m on the opposite side, I play a lot more then paint. I usually stick to around 1000 pts, and we have an unspoken no flyer rule. But I do love nurgle bikes and am working on converting some older like circa 1980s bikes. Have you tried any plague marines? They tend to really hold their own, especially against my dark angels buddy, he Hayes them. Also have you tried any raptors? I got a bunch of them with bits in a recent reddit exchange, so was curious about others thoughts.

  3. Nice. Yeah I’m on the opposite side, I play a lot more then paint. I usually stick to around 1000 pts, and we have an unspoken no flyer rule. But I do love nurgle bikes and am working on converting some older like circa 1980s bikes. Have you tried any plague marines? They tend to really hold their own, especially against my dark angels buddy, he Hayes them. Also have you tried any raptors? I got a bunch of them with bits in a recent reddit exchange, so was curious about others thoughts. I also don’t really build a competitive list, more fun. My current one centers on nurgle bikers, a couple squads of plague marines two vindicators and a mob of cultists

    • Yeah, I had an entire nurgle themed army when I played several years ago so I wanted to go with something different this time. They are definitely hard to pass up. Running a lord on a bike with MoN makes a lot of sense. I modeled a regular lord on a bike and gave him the Burning Brand of Skalathrax. Check out that combo. Also look into a winged daemon prince with a black mace. If you listen to podcasts about the tournament scene, you will hear a lot of people run 80 cultists, 9 Obliterators, and 3 Heldrakes as the core of their army. I would never buy or play with a list like that but if you are leaning more towards competitive play, look into something along those lines.

  4. eww. I can see that being really effective and nasty, but not really my style. I dont really dig the whole tourney scene, im still really new to 40K. I am just trying to be casually copetitive, and not get tabled. I play with mostly laid back guys, but ones who have played for a while. I have tried the winged lord, and man is he awesome. That lord looks like it could be nasty. Are oblits really that strong? ive mostly stayed with autocannon havocs, they seem to be very effective as artillery, and once i get my melta raptors together, i feel like i should be fine on the anti tank.

Leave a Reply

