Armies on Parade

I decided to make an “Armies on Display” board for the local GW store contest later this month. I have never made a display board so it was a fun break from painting models. I headed to Home Depot and bought a 2″ x 2″ piece of foam board, a bag of sand, several cans of black spray paint, and two pints of paint mixed up in Citadel colors. This was a nice, cheap option since they can scan any color you bring in and match it for $3 a pint. I had some leftover foam board and a piece of 2″ x 2″ Masonite. I used a hot wire cutter to make a few small hills and then glued it all together with liquid nails. I painted the board with one of the colors I had mixed so that when I sprayed it all black, the foam board wouldn’t melt. I then added sand and bits of cement block from GF9 along with a dozen or so skulls. Finally, I painted and flocked it as I would a base of one of army models. It’s nothing special but I think it should decent among the other boards. Anyone else entering Armies on Parade at their local store?

ImageImageImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

